By Rex Clementine

India showcased why they are a formidable unit in the ICC T-20 World Cup with a comprehensive 47 run win over Afghanistan in Barbados on Thursday. A total of 160 looked a match winning one, but India posted 180 and then shot out Afghanistan for 134 to showcase why they are one of the most formidable sides in the competition.

Left-arm quick Fazalhaq Farooqi has enhanced his reputation as one of the leading bowlers in the world in this format with early strikes in the tournament and on Thursday he dismissed Rohit Sharma for eight. With 15 wickets to his name, Farooqi is the leading wicket taker in the tournament.

Rashid Khan then picked up wickets in every over to see the back of Rishabh Pant, Virat Kohli and Shivam Dube. India were 90 for four in 11 overs.

It was left for Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya to rebuild the innings. Suryakumar came up with an entertaining knock sweeping Rashid to perfection and clearing the seamers straight down the ground.

They produced a 60-run partnership in 42 balls to put India in the box seat. While Suryakumar produced 53 off 28 balls with five fours and three sixes, Pandya made 32 in 24 balls with three fours and two sixes.

India finished on 180 for eight in 20 overs and then it was time for their bowlers to showcase their skill sets.

Jasprit Bumrah produced a wicket in his second ball. When Afghanistan were looking set to launch some big runs, Bumrah came back and struck to give India total domination. He finished with three wickets and his four overs cost just seven runs including a maiden. Scoring runs off Bumrah is going to be a tough ask and he’s India’s trump card.

India alongside Australia and England are the leading contenders to win the title and why India are the firm favourites is because they have Bumrah in their rank.

Arshdeep Singh was impressive too as he finished with three wickets.

Rohit Sharma used Kuldeep Yadav well and hitting him against spin proved to be quite a task. He finished with two wickets.

Afghanistan were bowled for 132 in 20 overs.